Day 9: Select an Exercise Plan

This activity did cause a bit of a bristle when I read it – probably due to my history of exercising. It’s been very much all or nothing…

When I was losing weight for my wedding I was getting up at 5am to go to the gym every morning and spending a lot of time there. I was obsessed with the numbers on my heart rate monitor. My first thought when reading my activity for today was “I have no desire to go back to that level of obsession again” – then I realised that I do have a desire to be that fit again. So my aim is to do this but without the obsessive feelings, and now that I don’t have a date that I am aiming to lose all my excess weight by I think I will be fine.  

Beck categorises exercise into spontaneous and planned. I have been working very hard over the past few weeks to increase my spontaneous exercise by walking 10,000 steps per day and due to my non-existent level of fitness this has been quite challenging. I have managed to do it most days but yesterday my legs and feet were so sore that I just couldn’t. I drove to school, telling myself it was because I had heaps of stuff to carry in, but I want to be honest with myself – it’s because my body was so tired that I needed a break. That’s OK – I have been doing really well at this and I am back determined to make it to 10,000 steps today.

Planned exercise is another challenge – one that fits into Day 8: Create Time and Energy’s challenge. I have to schedule in planned exercise and I am so resistant to it! I don’t want to! At the end of every day’s activity in the BDS, there is a section called “What are you thinking?” I haven’t really had any reason to take notice of it before (apart from reading over it) because I agree with everything that’s being asked of me in this program and the benefits are clear. However today this one helped…

Sabotaging thought: I don’t want to exercise

Helpful Response: I shouldn’t go by whether I want to exercise. If I want to lose weight and keep it off I need to exercise. There are also lots of other benefits to exercising. I might be making this isn’t a much bigger deal than it really is. I can do this.

When I get to the gym, I do enjoy it. So whether I want to or not, I’m going. I’m going to plan it like I have planned Pilates – make an appointment time. So I will exercise (and I grit my teeth as I write this!) between 3-4pm Wednesdays and Sunday morning. With two Pilates sessions per week and 10,000 steps per day that’s a good start.

