The first two weeks are meant to be preparation for dieting but I am past that…I am doing it! I will still do all the pre-diet exercises in the book though.

Day 2’s exercise: Pick two reasonable diets

I struggled and resisted this one a bit. “I only need one!” I thought. “There’s no way I’m going to fail! Counting calories and not having the restriction of having a meal plan is working for me!” But…you tell me to have a back-up plan in case this one fails and I will, Judith Beck, Ph.D because you have done this shit before and I am a mere fatty. 😛

So my first diet is counting calories and my back-up is the Low GI diet. I even have a back-up for the back-up…I will get S to make a meal plan for me.

Day 3’s exercise: Eat sitting down.

Pffffffffffffft! This is SO not a problem for me! I have never eaten anything standing up in my life! I always sit downnnn…wait….no I don’t. Shit. This book is onto something!

From Beck’s list (“Do you do any of the following?”) I am guilty of 

  • Taking free samples of food at the grocery store (Baker’s Delight!)
  •  Taste food as you prepare meals
  • Spoon ice cream out of the container (have sometimes eaten the whole tub this way!)
  • Take a piece of candy when you walk past the snack jar sitting on a coworker’s desk (for me that translates to eating a chocolate biscuit/chips that are left on the coffee table in our staff room)
  • Nibble on something you see when opening the fridge to get something else out (again – me at work. I don’t have biscuits in the house here but we always have packets of Tim Tams at work and I always grab one when I open the fridge door – God knows why!!!)

So much of this food stuff relates to work! I do sit down at home but not there so that is my challenge come Monday – no grabbing biscuits as I run off to class!

