Thanks so much for the words of support after the loss of my Pa. That frog story is only one of hundreds…I wish I had written them down or even recorded him telling them when he was alive but I couldn’t bear to think about him not being here one day. Silly, but true. People have asked me for years “When are you going to write a book?” and if I ever did it would be about Pa and the rest of my family. I have an excellent memory (just like Pa) as does my mum so perhaps I will one day…

I really wish I had the ability to travel through time, you know? I would love to go back to when my mum was growing up in her small town and be part of that family. I’d love to know my nan when she was younger, and see the dynamics of their family. I’d love to be sitting at that red laminex table (the one now sitting in my dining room) that winter morning when the entire family of six was sitting around eating their breakfast before going back to school. I write ‘back’ because my mum and her three brothers had been up since 5am having music lessons off the nuns who taught them. As they sat around the table, the radio was playing the funeral notices for the day. The man on the radio was announcing the funeral of a Gunnadah man who had died at a ripe old age, and finished by saying that the funeral was to take place at the Anglican Church at 11am. At this, my mum’s 11 year old twin brothers wooped and cheered for joy! My Pa furiously demanded an explanation, and the twins told him that it was an Anglican that had died, and not a Catholic! Surely cause for celebration! A horrified Pa delivered a lengthy lecture concerning Christian behaviour and treating people as equals.  No one in the house had ever bad-mouthed Anglicans, and he wondered for years after why the twins reacted like that. I would pay money to see the horror on Pa’s face and the surpressed smile on Nan’s…

I’d also love to go back to Shakespeare’s time and get a front row seat at the Globe for Othello. And meet Christopher Marlowe.  But that’s another story, hey?

Now, onto the main reason for this post – Lynda asked me what exactly I was doing ‘diet’ wise…Well I am still seeing the dietician once every three weeks or so.  I am going to see her on Wednesday night and report in on how the Gabriel Method has gone (I have not seen her since I began it). I have a few days food tracking typed out that I will take along with me and see what she thinks. At the moment I am very happy with my eating – I am only eating what I crave and have largely (about 95% of the time that is) avoided food which is ‘bad’ for me (like butter, ice cream and most fatty food)

I purchased the Gabriel Method (through Dymocks for $29.95- would not recommend eBay or through his website because it takes longer to get to you or is more expensive) and downloaded the mediatation track on his website. I listen to this about 4 nights a week when I go to bed and it is a cross (I think) between hypnosis and neuro-linguistic programming. Jon goes through some relaxation techniques and visualisation of your ideal body and the type of food that will satisfy you.

In the book he recommends adding things to your diet rather than taking things out. You starve for certain nutrients, and if your body isn’t getting them you will keep eating and eating, even if you aren’t hungry. For me, the inclusion of plenty of Omega 3 and a little more protein has sorted me out tremendously.

Here’s what I ate today…and bear in mind I slept in really late and was rushing! 🙂 My breakfast has been a lot better than this recently!

Breakfast

  • 2 glasses of water with probiotic and digestive enzimes. 
  • 1 nut bar and Green & Black’s organic hot chocolate  powder (1/2 a tablespoon – under half what I used to have) with low fat soy milk.
  • 5 Flaxseed oil tablets and 1 multi-vitamin.

Morning Tea

  • 1 slice of sprouted wheat bread with 1/4 avocado and 20gr cheese
  • 2 mandarins
  • 2 chocolate gaity biscuits (loved them, no guilt there!)
  • 1 can of diet coke

Lunch

  • 4 vita weats with babanagoush
  • 500ml water

Afternoon tea

  • 1 nashi pear
  • 1/2 banana (I have not eaten a banana [unless in a smoothis] for YEARS! I don’t know what came over me! My body must have really needed it!)
  • water
  • 50 grams lindt orange chocolate

Dinner

  • 6 small Syndian lentil balls with light sour cream and sweet chilli sauce
  • 1 cup brocolli
  • 1/2 large zucchini lighted fried with rock salt
  • 1 cup sweet potato mash with light sour cream
  • water

Desert

  •  water!!! I know!!! Too sad – but that’s all I felt like! LOL!

I haven’t eaten this much chocolate in a long time but really felt like I needed it today, so just went with it. Who knows what was going on – but I do feel very thirsty and have been guzzling water all night.

Anyway Lynda – I hope this answers some of your question! I will post what I eat tomorrow too…

