The lovely Kate has informed me that’s it’s International No Diet Day! And here I am, not dieting…or feeling guilty about not dieting for the first time since (thinks…) er…fuck, I don’t know! 1993 probably!

Kate has been such an inspiration to me on the no diet front, despite the fact that she is a mad scrapper. I can’t be doing the scrapping. I don’t get it. I think scapping is like Comic Sans font – you either love it or hate it. But here is a link for all you mad scrappers so you can admire Kate’s handiwork! And here’s another link for Kate to her Beautiful Birth Stories blog which is partly responsible for me thinking that maybe, one day when I am older, I could contemplate perhaps consider having a baby. Maybe. But not now. Or at a time in the future that I can imagine.

(Shut up about my age already!)

So what does No Dieting Day mean to me? It means a journey back to normality. It means a relationship with food that is all about nourishing, not punishing. It means taking care of my body. It means not overeating.

Not overeating! Isn’t that like, a diet?!

No. It’s normal. I want to listen to my body – what does it need? I have found that overeating is just another form of punishment. This might not be true for you, and you may think that diets are the answer and that’s fair enough. I’m just one of the 9 out of 10 people who have put all the weight – plus more – back on after going off whatever diet I was following that week. 

I was nodding my head so hard and fast when I was reading the below that I now have whiplash. All linked if you want to know more…

“The truth of the matter is, 95 per cent of all diets fail in the long run and although that is not the fault of the dieter, many people, especially women, see the struggle and failure of dieting as evidence of their lack of willpower or interpret it as general worthlessness.”

Eat as long as you are hungry. Trust your body’s signals of hunger and satiety to identify the quantity of food you need, rather than following rules established by a specific diet.

“Australians spend more than $1 million dollars a day on weight loss dieting, with little or no long term benefits.”

 

Labelling food as ‘bad’ or ‘junk’ often causes us to feel bad about ourselves and guilty about what we have eaten.  Ironically, this guilty feeling can even make us eat more of that type of food, even when we no longer feel like it.  So, do your best to think about food as ‘everyday’ food (fruit, vegetables, cereals) rather than ‘good’ food and ‘sometimes food’® (chocolate, chips) rather than ‘bad’ food.

Saying no to dieting has been one of the scariest and hardest things I have ever done. It’s hard to let go of the dream of a quick fix. But I haven’t felt this good in years…

